Tag Archives: Canadian player of the year

Eric Hansen is the 2012 Player of the Year!

GM Eric Hansen
GM Eric Hansen

Grandmaster Eric Hansen from Calgary is the 2012 Canadian Chess Player of the Year. Congratulations, Eric!

Eric won both the overall Player-of-the-Year vote and the Fan Ballot, the former determined in the main by a poll of Canadian chess journalists (such as they are) and the latter by votes from the fans! In the overall vote, soon-to-be-IM Aman Hambleton finished 2nd, Canadian Champion GM Bator Sambuev 3rd, and Canadian Junior Champion IM Richard Wang 4th.

2012 was quite a year for Hansen. In July, he won the Canadian Open in Victoria; in August, he tied for 5th at the World Junior in Athens. He then scored 7.5/10 for Canada at the Olympiad in Istanbul (qualifying for the GM title); and then 8.5/11 at the Continental in Mar del Plata (tying for 1st and qualifying by playoff for the 2013 World Cup). How could anyone not vote for him after a year like that!

He is now ranked 2nd in Canada by FIDE rating, behind GM Kevin Spraggett – or 3rd if inactive players are included (GM Mark Bluvshtein, now retired, still holds the top rating).

Check here for a more complete list of 2012 Canadian chess player accomplishments and past player-of-the-year winners.

Fans can check out Eric Hansen’s new website (hansenchess.com) or follow @hansenchess on Twitter!

David Cohen has organized the “Canadian Player of the Year” award each year for the past ten years. As David explains, “The purpose is to recognize the achievements of a Canadian chess player in 2012; and to gain some publicity for Canadian chess.” He also thanks Michael von Keitz of CFC and Larry Bevand of CMA for their help.

Canadian Chess Player of the Year

David Cohen, chess historian and author of the Canadian Chess Info files (which form much of the historical content of the CFC website), is once again holding the Canadian Chess Player of the Year award.

The previous, 2011 winner was GM Mark Bluvshtein. Check full 2011 poll results.

Vote Now!

The official 2012 award is based on a poll of chess journalists, but there is also a category for the fan favourite. You can vote online by submitting a comment form (with your choice in the comment section) in the Contact Us section of the Canadian Chess Info site. The deadline for voting is 6:00 am EST on Monday February 11.

Canadian Chess Player of the Year

Mark Bluvshtein

David Cohen, chess historian and author of the Canadian Chess Info files (which now form much of the content of the new CFC website), has announced the Canadian Chess Player of the Year – GM Mark Bluvshtein!

Congratulations, Mark!


Official winners (based on a poll of chess journalists)
1. Mark Bluvshtein (=1st at the Continental Championship, played Aeroflot, Capablanca, Groningen, Tata Steel, World Cup, etc.)
2. Bator Sambuev (won Canadian Closed, hit highest-ever Canadian rating of 2753)
3. Michael Song (won World U-10 bronze at WYCC, won Toronto Junior Championship)

Fan favourites (based on an online vote)
1. Melissa Giblon (won Canadian Girls’ U-12 at CYCC)
2. Nikolay Noritsyn (won Québec Open, Toronto Thanksgiving Open, =1st at Toronto Labour Day Open, etc.)
3. Mark Bluvshtein (the official winner; see above)

More information