Tag Archives: Canadian closed

Zonals in Montréal this Summer

The Canadian Closed/Zonal and the Goddesschess Canadian Women’s Closed are happening together, August 4 to 11 in Montréal. Canada’s elite players will be competing for the title of Canadian Champion and Canadian Women’s Champion.

As zonal events, the tournaments will not only qualify one player for the 2013 World Cup and one player for the Women’s Chess Championship, but will also be able to award six new FIDE titles: two FMs, one IM, two WFMs, and one WIM.

2011 Canadian Champion,
Bator Sambuev
2011 Canadian Women's Champion,
Natalia Khoudgarian

Tournament Information

Full details, including a list of registered players, are available on the official tournament website.

Tournament Flyers

Grab flyers for the events:

Current Champions

The 2011 Canadian Closed took place in Guelph, and the winner was GM Bator Sambuev. The 2011 Women’s Championship took place in Toronto, and the winner was WIM Natalia Khoudgarian. Both current champions are registered to defend their titles this summer!

GM Sambuev wins Canadian Closed

The Canadian Closed Chess Championship, May 6-11, Guelph, ON

IM Noritsyn faces IM Hansen in round 6

The Canadian Closed is an invitational Canadian Championship. It is also a Zonal qualifying event for the 2011 World Cup in Khanty Mansiysk, Russia – part of the 2011-2013 World Championship cycle.

GM Bator Sambuev

GM Bator Sambuev won the tournament, earning his title as Canadian Champion with impressive, fighting chess. And it came down to an exciting finish. Through 8 rounds, Sambuev was tied for the lead with IM Eric Hansen, from Calgary, Alberta. Then, in round 9, both players won their games. So it came down to a rapid playoff to break the tie.

The tournament was broadcast live by MonRoi – check the site for photos and games. There were some issues with the MonRoi site, though – see the ChessTalk thread.

The Canadian Closed always features some of the strongest players in Canada. Here are the top 20 players by result:

1 GM Bator Sambuev (2750) 7.5/9
2 IM Eric Hansen (2572) 7.5
3 IM Leonid Gerzhoy (2629) 6.5
4 IM Nikolay Noritsyn (2584) 6.0
5 IM Raja Panjwani (2450) 6.0
6 Arthur Calugar (2401) 6.0
7 Michael Kleinman (2301) 5.5
8 FM Robert Hamilton (2370) 5.5
9 FM Shiyam Thavandiran (2463) 5.0
10 FM Hans Jung (2289) 5.0
11 Morgon Mills (2056) 5.0
12 Victor Plotkin (2422) 4.5
13 Miladin Djerkovic (2280) 4.5
14 Roman Sapozhnikov (2451) 4.5
15 FM Michael Dougherty (2312) 4.5
16 John Upper (2169) 4.5
17 David Filipovich (2174) 4.5
18 Michael Humphreys (2273) 4.0
19 Zi Yi [Joey] Qin (2353) 4.0
20 FM Dale Haessel (2233) 4.0

Check the MonRoi site for complete results.