Tag Archives: Alexandra Kosteniuk

World Mind Games opens in Beijing

SportAccord World Mind Games 2011 – December 8 to 16

SportAccord World Mind Games 2011 opens December 8 in Beijing, China – the site of the 2008 Summer Olympic Games.

Chess players – including Ivanchuk, Sergey Karjakin, Vugar Gashimov, Grischuk, Wang Hao, Kamsky, Ponomariov, Le Quang Liem, Anish Giri (@anishgiri), Alexandra Kosteniuk (@chessqueen), Yelena Dembo (@yelenadembo), and Hou Yifan – will participate in blitz, rapid, and blindfold events.

The Games also features four other mind sports: xianqi, go, bridge, and checkers.

Check:

YouTube live coverage is scheduled for 7:00 to 11:00 GMT (2 am to 6 am EST) starting on December 9.

The first chess events are the men’s rapid and women’s rapid, starting at 14:00 and 15:15 CST (1 am and 2:15 am EST) on December 9. [Beijing’s CST is GMT+8, 13 hours ahead of EST.]

Through two rounds, Alexandra Kosteniuk is leading the women’s rapid, while Wang Hao is leading the men’s.

Here are some first- and second-round games:

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on Reddit