ACC Club Championship 2018

It’s that time of year again!

Club Championship starts January 29

It’s time for another edition of our annual Club Championship! (Check out the club championship tag for past editions!)

The format for the Club Championship is a little different than our regular Swisses: six rounds and just two sections, Championship and Reserve.

Club Championship trophies

The Championship section sees the top players at our club vie for the title of 2018 Club Champion! Dave Southam is the defending champion, after breaking a five-year streak by Michael Humphreys. The minimum rating to enter the section is 1700.

The Reserve section sees players rated under 1800 compete for the title of 2018 Reserve Champion. Last year it was Vinorth Vigneswaramoorthy.

All are welcome!

All are welcome to join us for the event, but only full-year members are eligible to win the Club Champion and Reserve Champion titles. Winners’ names will be engraved on permanent trophies at the club.

Rounds are at 7:30 pm on six Monday evenings, starting January 29 and running to March 12 (no round on Family Day, February 19). Registered players may request a bye by email before 6:00 pm. New players are asked to please register on site by 7:00 to make sure that you’re paired for the night’s round.

four square shadow

Round One – January 29

The first round sees 10 players in the Championship section, and 32 players in the Reserve section. New players are welcome to join next week in Rd 2!

In Round-One David-versus-Goliath match-ups, there are always a few upsets. In the Reserve section, Benjamin Kamnitzer (885) defeats Salim Belcadi (1438) and Valery Stroganov (975) defeats Dragan Jevtic (1511). And in the Championship section, Jonathan Yu (2149) defeats Sergey Malakhovets (2211), while Brett Campbell (2192) holds against Michael Humphreys (2361).

four square shadow

Round Two – February 5

After two rounds of play, it’s Sergey Noritsyn alone in first in the Championship section with 2.0/2. And in the Reserve, it’s down to two players with a perfect score as Hooshang Ab-Barin and Ayo Ogunlana are tied for the lead with 2.0/2. Four rounds remain, and anything can happen…

four square shadow

Round Three – February 12

With a few new additions, 47 players are now competing in the tournament (five took byes this round).

In the Reserve section, the two co-leaders, both with 2.0/2 scores, clash on top board, and only Hooshang Ab-Barin walks away with a perfect 3.0/3 score. He still has three rounds left to defend challenges from a long list of players who trail him by only half a point, including Michael Saltat, who grinds out a full point in a rook-and-pawn ending against last year’s Reserve Champion Vinorth Vigneswaramoorthy.

In the Championship section, sole leader Sergey Noritsyn, the only player with a perfect 2.0/2 score, is defeated on board one by Dave Southam, who now shares the lead, at 2.5/3, with Jonathan Yu.

four square shadow

OFF WEEK – February 19

There’s no club this week for Family Day, but don’t miss the Hart House Reading Week Open (Feb 17-19) at U of T.

four square shadow

Round Four – February 26

New players are welcome to join in Round 4. Please email before 6:00, or register on site before 7:00 pm. You need both CFC and club membership, but both can be purchased from us, and we have a variety of club membership options available.

Ranking cross-tables after Round 3

ACC Club Championship – Championship section

Rk. Name Rtg FED 1.Rd 2.Rd 3.Rd Pts.
1 Southam David 2152 CAN 8w1 2b½ 3w1 2.5
2 Yu Jonathan 2149 CAN 7b1 1w½ 6w1 2.5
3 Noritsyn Sergey 2214 CAN 5b1 9w1 1b0 2
4 Campbell Brett 2192 CAN 6w½ 8b½ 10w1 2
5 Wiebe Daniel 2080 CAN 3w0 -1 9b1 2
6 Humphreys Michael 2361 CAN 4b½ 12w1 2b0 1.5
7 Malakhovets Sergey 2211 CAN 2w0 12b1 1.5
8 England Max 2020 CAN 1b0 4w½ -1 1.5
9 Li Yun Hong (kevin) 1774 CAN -1 3b0 5w0 1
10 Ugodnikov Arkadiy 1710 CAN 4b0 1
11 Mcsherry Peter 1840 CAN 0 1
12 Daldal Erdem 1762 CAN 6b0 7w0 0.5

Updated results are also available on the Chess-Results server.

ACC Club Championship – Reserve section

Rk. Name Rtg FED 1.Rd 2.Rd 3.Rd Pts.
1 Ab-Barin Hooshang 1630 CAN 18w1 24b1 6w1 3
2 Diemer Ulli 1616 CAN 29b½ 20w1 19b1 2.5
3 Dixon Javier 1466 CAN 36b1 11w½ 21b1 2.5
4 Saltat Michael 1458 CAN 35b1 12w½ 17b1 2.5
5 Schwartz Lorne 1534 CAN 31w½ 25b1 22w1 2.5
6 Ogunlana Ayo 1612 CAN 26b1 9w1 1b0 2
7 David Jean-Marc 1400 CAN 12b0 36w1 26b1 2
8 Jevtic Dragan 1511 CAN 24w0 23b1 27w1 2
9 Guo Haotong Hazel 1469 CAN 33w1 6b0 24w1 2
10 Belcadi Salim 1438 CAN 25w0 35b1 30w1 2
11 Chen Sihao 1651 CAN 23w1 3b½ 13b½ 2
12 Armstrong Robert J. 1644 CAN 7w1 4b½ 2
13 Mansilla Guillermo 1439 CAN 32b1 11w½ 2
14 Supol George 1337 CAN 25w1 2
15 Pancer Jeff 1047 CAN 29w1 2
16 Lambert Peter 1076 CAN 35w1 2
17 Vigneswaramoorthy Vinorth 1689 CAN 28b1 4w0 1.5
18 Finkelstein Michael 1229 CAN 1b0 31w1 1.5
19 Stefanovich-Thomson Alexis 1165 CAN 31b1 2w0 1.5
20 Shogilev Sandon 1090 CAN 2b0 32w1 1.5
21 Spahic Matt 0 CAN 27b1 3w0 1.5
22 Cvetkovic Nikola 605 CAN -1 5b0 1.5
23 Kalniev Stefan 1237 CAN 11b0 8w0 36b1 1
24 Stroganov Valery 975 CAN 8b1 1w0 9b0 1
25 Kamnitzer Benjamin 885 CAN 10b1 5w0 14b0 1
26 Dong Yiwei 1244 CAN 6w0 33b1 7w0 1
27 Stroganov Victor 1106 CAN 34w1 21w0 8b0 1
28 Kalmanson Evgeny 1332 CAN 17w0 32b½ 1
29 Patton Mark A. 1255 CAN 2w½ 15b0 1
30 Teram Eli 950 CAN 10b0 1
31 Noritsyn Ivan 1001 CAN 5b½ 19w0 18b0 0.5
32 England Derek 820 CAN 13w0 28w½ 20b0 0.5
33 Zuo Roger 761 CAN 9b0 26w0 0.5
34 Li Yun Hong (kevin) 1774 CAN 27b0 0 0 0
35 Moiseev Alex 1082 CAN 4w0 10w0 16b0 0
36 Souchko Larissa 975 CAN 3w0 7b0 23w0 0

Updated results are also available on the Chess-Results server.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on Reddit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *